East Haddon can trace its history back to the time of the Norman Conquest where it appears in the Domesday Book under the name ‘Eddone’, which is thought to mean ‘heather-covered hill’, befitting our location on a ridge about 500 feet above sea level.
Our 12th century church is the oldest building in the village. Most of it was rebuilt in the 14th century, with the tower, having suffered a partial collapse, being rebuilt in 1673. The bells in the tower constitute a claim to fame for East Haddon. The four oldest bells were installed in 1621, a fifth was subsequently installed and on the last day of December in 1756 these five bells were rung in the first ever recorded peal on five bells. The peal lasted over three hours and included 5040 changes. The achievement was recorded in the Northampton Mercury of the time and is a unique distinction in ringing circles.
The oldest house with a date-stone, 1655, is Wisteria Cottage, however there are older undated houses in the village. Many of the older houses were built with the local Northamptonshire ironstone, some of which may have come from from the demolition of the original palace of Holdenby in the 17th century. Holdenby House, famous for its links to the English Civil War, is in the neighbouring parish and was rebuilt on a smaller scale in the 19th century.
The village has a number of interesting landmarks such as the thatched pump which dates from around 1550 and was still in use as recently as the 1920’s. East Haddon Hall was built by Henry Sawbridge family in 1790 and his descendants lived there until the beginning of the 20th century.
For more information about the history of East Haddon and the people who have lived here, visit the East Haddon History Society's website at www.ehhs.org.uk